You are here

Doctoral Students

SLAT students come from a wide variety of personal and academic backgrounds. Generally, 65-75 U.S. and international students are enrolled in the program each year. All students who have been admitted to the program have already earned a master’s degree or its equivalent prior to enrollment. Quality indicators include high GPAs and awards prior to admission, including scholarships for undergraduate and/or master’s level study from U.S. and international sources, presentations at conferences and/or publications.

SLAT students are strongly encouraged to be active in local, national, and international professional organizations. Because most SLAT students play a significant role in programs for basic language instruction (including Arabic, Chinese, English, French, German, Greek, Italian, Japanese, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish and Turkish), criteria for admission include successful prior experience as language teachers. 

Click on a student's name to read their bio. To contact a student by email, add @email.arizona.edu to the end of their NetID.

 

Entering Class of 2016

Name (Net ID)

Ahmet Serdar Acar (ahmetserdaracar)

Randall Drake Asberry (dasberry)

Joan Palmiter Bajorek (bajorek)

Cody Dees (codyjdees)

Jeroen Gevers (jgevers)

Lauren Harvey (lnharvey)

Ahmad Ismail (ahmadismail)

Anna Katikhina (akatikhina)

Emily Palese (epalese)

 

Entering Class of 2015

Name (Net ID)

Mehtap Acar (mehtapacar)

Sara Alcazar Silva (salcazar)

Jenna Altherr Flores (jaltherrflores)

Essa Batel (essabatel)

Tahnee Bucher Barbosa da Silva (tbucher)

Elif Burhan (elifburhan)

Borbala Gaspar (bgaspar)

Maredil Leon (mleonced)

David Ruben Lozada Gomez (dlozadagomez)

Aleksey Novikov (alekseynovikov)

Casey Richardson (car9)

Nicole Schmidt (nicoleschmidt)

Amanda Snell (amandasnell)

Bruna Sommer Farias (brunasommer)

Angela Steadman (amiller2)

Stefan Vogel (stefanvogel)

Michelle Vonie (vonie)

Pornnicha Weerakanto (weerakanto)

 

Entering Class of 2014

Name (Net ID)

Wid Allehaiby (lehaibyw)

Hicham Assaoui (hassaoui)

Tara Hashemi (tarahashemi)

Rachel LaMance (rlamance)

Mariela Lopez (marielalopez)

Jacob Monzingo (jamongo)

Janelle Moser (janellemoser)

Timothy O'Connell (toconne4)

Kristian Putra (kristianadiputra)

Dunja Radojkovic (dunjaradojkovic)

Adriana Scheidegger (adrianaps)

Laurel Schenkoske (laurelschenkoske)

Jennifer Slinkard (jenniferslinkard)

Elio Sottoscritti (esottoscritti)

Chelsea Steinert (steinerc)                               

 

Entering Class of 2013

Name (NetID)

Sara Al-Bahlani (saralbahlani)

Riyad Alhomsi (ralhomsi)

Laura Luévano (lluevano)

Diego Fernando Macias (diegofmacias)

Elyse Barbara Petit (epetit)

Kayo Shintaku (kshintaku)

Tanya Tercero (ttercero)

Elaine Yee (elaineyee)

                      

Entering Class of 2012

Name (NetID)

Janel Murakami (janelg)

Alan Thomas Kohler (alankohler)

Sichon (Nat) Koowuttayakorn (sichon)  

Kristin Lange (klange)    

Trudie McEvoy (tmcevoy)                

Christian Ruvalcaba (ruvalca1)             

Ben Schilaty (schilaty)   

Joshua Tanner (joshuatanner)  

Christopher Vasquez-Wright (vasquezwright)   

Samina Yasmin (saminayasmin)

 

Entering Class of 2011

Name (NetID)

Amani Alageel (amanialageel )

Kelvin Chong (chongk)

Sansanee Punyalert (spunyalert)

Stefano Maranzana (Maranzana)

Michael Sayle (mssayle)

 

Entering Class of 2010

Name (NetID)

Bonnie Christina Holmes (holmesbc)

Linda Rafaela Lemus (llemus)  

Jessica E Mattix (mitki2)   

Glen A Piskula (piskula)

 

Entering Class of 2009

Name (NetID)

Julianne Hammink (hammink) 

Jieun Ryu (jryu)

Malena Samaniego-Salinas (malenas)

Jacob Witt (wittj) 

Last updated 16 Feb 2017